#FlawlessFriday / The Sun Care Skin Care Decision

skincare / the sun care product awareness read & a decision to make

SEO_soap_&_glory_sunshield_superfluid_SPF50_plus_how_to_choose_the_right_facial_sunscreen

Using sun protection through out the year is essential to me. Premature Ageing. Sun damage. Uneven skin tone which can lead to skin cancers. I can already see marks on the high points of my cheek bones. I wish I had started earlier, I wish they could have told me these things at school. But starting now is better than never.

I’ve been using the Soap & Glory Make Yourself Youthful Sunshield Superfluid SFP50+ for nearly a year. Previous to that I just used my Hawaiian Tropic. I have been using S & G on my face, ears, neck and back of hands. I’ve always been a little wary of this particular sunscreen to be honest. It says on the package UVA and UVB filters. It also says SPF 50+, yes, that is 50 PLUS. So why am I worrying?

Well, I don’t think I ever noticed that little circle on the package of the S & G Sunshield, you know the one I mean, the circle with UVA in the middle. I’m sure I’ve read something and heard on the news about using sunscreen products with these little symbols on. I’m also aware that this particular product isn’t sold within the sun sections of shops. I’ve thrown my box away but here are some product pictures from The Little Blog of Beauty (HERE). See, no UVA symbol.

thumb suncare thumb suncare thumb suncare thumb suncare thumb suncare

cropped-b-an-w-emily-6-flip-circle.jpg“SO I’VE DONE A LITTLE RESEARCH”

THE UVA SYMBOL / WHAT DOES IT MEAN?
The UVA symbol I am talking about, exists as part of the European Union suncare standards. It means the sunscreen with the symbol on contains the minimum requirement, a third, of UVA stopping ingredients for that particular sunscreen’s SPF.

UVA/UVB… WHAT’S THE DIFFERENCE?
The letters UV stand for ultraviolet light.
The letters A and B, represent different strengths of that UV light. UVA rays, penetrate deeper into the skin, and cause long term damage and ageing (remember the A stands for Ageing!). UVB rays penetrate the outer layers of skin and cause sunburn, and short term damage. UVC rays also exist but these do not cause any damage.

THE S & G INGREDIENTS
Soap and Glory Make Yourself Youthful Sunshield Superfluid SFP50+ does contain sunscreen ingredients. Just not enough UVA ingredients for that little symbol to make the cut. And that’s why I haven’t ever seen it in the Sun sections of shops!

For me, the reason I am wearing a daily sunscreen is to protect myself from long term damage. Not having a sunscreen product that meets those minimum requirements for UVA is a no go for me, so I’m sorry S and G, I really enjoy using your product. I like the packaging. It doesn’t smell of sunscreen, it smells nice. It’s not too thick and sticky. Or white. It is a nice texture. But I just don’t think I can bring myself to repurchase you. Too good to be true! Big sad face.

Whilst my partner says using this product is fine for everyday use when I am not in direct sunlight, I am just not feeling convinced about it anymore. I’ve been looking out for other alternatives. La Roche Posay and other French Pharmacie brands have got up to a third off from supplier Feel Unique, and Boots it is on offer for 3 for 2. I had spotted that LRP have an Ultra Light SFP 50+ facial sunscreen with a whopping 50ml instead of the S and G’s 30ml offering. So even at full price its better value for money… I’ll let you know how I get on.


 

cropped-b-an-w-emily-6-flip-circle.jpg“What sunscreen products do you use for your face? Would you switch sunscreen if the UVA symbol is not present?”


 

Sources:
Cosmetics Europe (HERE)
The Facts About (HERE)

thumb suncare thumb suncare thumb suncare thumb suncare thumb suncare

Leave a Reply

