Read. Relax. Review. Three To-Reads

book worry / three to-reads & half of a yellow sun

thumb half of a yellow sun

 

I very quickly  through Half of a Yellow Sun by Cimamanda Ngozi Adichie. There I am sitting worrying about what I am going to read next. How do you find books to read? and books that are good? Pfft. I think I just tend to stumble across recommendations and stick them into my amazon wish list, So here’s three on my to-read list:

thumb the seventh dayThe Seventh Day by Yu Hua is a book I want to read to learn about the social side of China.thumb neverwhereAfter reading Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane, I felt very full of satisfaction from the distinct contemporary fantasy. Neverwhere, is the next read I plan to read from this quirky author. thumb the golen and the djiniThe Golem and the Djini by Helene Wecker. Partly because of the cover, partly because of the blurb. cropped-b-an-w-emily-6-flip-circle.jpg“As always, book updates will follow.”


 

cropped-b-an-w-emily-6-flip-circle.jpgEmily Says. “I’ve just finished reading Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. In my last Read. Relax. Review. post, I mentioned I was about to read this book and that I had high hopes for the author, you can read that (HERE). This book was brilliant. Three characters take you through the story from their point of view, it’s interesting to view other characters story from anothers perspective.

Twit Twit me (HERE)

Africa. War. Love. Relationships.


 

thumb if i staycropped-b-an-w-emily-6-flip-circle.jpg“I’m speeding through If I stay by Gayle Forman. My mum gave this to me on Monday, luckily on the day I finished Half of a Yellow Sun and I am over half way through it. An easy to digest read, I like the suspense and tension created right at the beginning of the book, but it’s faded, there are so many emotions and questions I think the protagonist should be feeling and asking, but the reader gets just a very dull description of the trauma that is happening around her. The other half of the book, the protagonists life events, is something I am finding hard to connect too. Such a shame, I think the book structure and idea is there, it’s just not been conceived very well.”


Talk to me if you’ve read/want to read these books, or have recommendations for me! You can also follow me on Goodreads (find the link below in my + section) Still trying to get my paws non-slipping about this site, so shed the light on this for me if you have Goodreads tips and tricks and knowledge to share!

Leave a Reply

