Read. Relax. Review. Three to Re-Read.

cups of tea at the ready!

I’m not really one to re-read books, I rarely find a book that I am wholly satisfied with, and although the next three books were not perfect for me, I’m going to give you a quick digest and why I’m going to read them again.


First up

SEO_the_snow_child_book_review

THE SNOW CHILD by EOWYN IVEY. Cold. Snow. Ice. Fairy Tales. Depression. Questioning. Parenthood. Magic. Sadness. Home. Family. Neighbours. Adults. Farming. Alaska. Love.

So why to Re-Read?cropped-b-an-w-emily-6-flip-circle.jpgThe cold and snowy atmosphere of this book. It was very real and relatable to even with a magical strand, you just wanted to believe it so badly for the main protagonist’s happiness, the cause of her unhappiness is very relatatble so it’s really quite comforting to not feel alone in this feeling by many. This book wasn’t perfect for me because of the commercial strand which says hello about two thirds of the way through the book. But this doesn’t put me off re-reading this magical tale. Note to Self: read this when the weather starts getting warmer next year. I read this in winter a few years ago and it made me feel colder!”


Second Helpings

SEO_the_night_circus_erin_morgenstern_book_review

THE NIGHT CIRCUS by ERIN MORGENSTERN. Senses. Childhood. Memories. Games. Smell. Taste. Texture. Magic. Circus. Popcorn. Toffee. Sweets. Experiences. Fairground. Duals. Tents.

So why Re-Read?cropped-b-an-w-emily-6-flip-circle.jpg“The fluid rich descriptions in this book really does make you sense the magic of the circus. It is a brilliant place to escape to. I think this book is a little slow to begin with and does have a strong commercial element to it. Think, film in the making. Harry Potter lovers will enjoy this. If you really want to be taken somewhere in a book this is the one to go to, because the way the words make all your senses feel alive, its worth a read. By the way, if you have a kindle, don’t you just find it so frustrating when the book cover is a really crappy one to the one shown on amazon? ppfft.”


Third Up.

SEO_miss_peregrine's_home_for_peculiar_children_ransom_riggs_review_book

MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN by RANSOM RIGGS Strange. Photos. Collection. Teenage. Unusual. Thriller. Mystery. Creative Process. Trust. Growing up.

So why to Re-Read?cropped-b-an-w-emily-6-flip-circle.jpg“I spoke a little about this in my last Read. Relax. Review. post (HERE), I’m planning to read the second in series so, I thought I should refresh my memory on this. I loved this book’s unusual ness. It has photos all the way through which I really enjoyed as I could see the authors creative process which is something that interests me. I would recommend buying this in paper/hardback if you want to read it as I think it would be more effective than on a Kindle.”


Talk to me if you’ve read/want to read these books! You can also follow me on Goodreads (find the link below in my + section) Still trying to get my paws non-slipping about this site, so shed the light on this for me if you have Goodreads tips and tricks and knowledge to share!

and you can Twit Twit me (HERE)

Leave a Reply

