Read. Relax. Review. Five Quarters of the Orange.

by Joanne Harris. A chatty post.. so enjoy me with a cup of tea. 

SEO_book_review_five_quarters_of_the_orange_Joanne_harris

Rich in seductive descriptions. Food and drink. Alike Chocolat (the book & film). Gossipy. Secrets. Complicated characters. A tragedy. A protagonist you don’t necessarily like but can understand and sympathise with. Anger. Relationships.

 

cropped-b-an-w-emily-6-flip-circle.jpgEmily Recommends. “This book’s story kept me reading and although I felt there was a slow start in the last half of the first third (what a mouthful), once you push through it, it doesn’t disappoint the curious, need to know side of you. This book tells the protagonist’s past but keeps you in present day, so its not dull (Does anyone else find most ‘memories’, ‘recollection’ and ‘past events’ in fiction feel gloomy and grey? Just me? Sometimes it just makes me feel a bit cold). The story is enjoyable, not pleasant but I still like it and would potentially read it again. Recommended for those who enjoyed Chocolat for another Chocolat style fix. Have you read it? Let me know what you thought.”

Twit Twit me (HERE)

 

Village themes. City themes. Farming. Smell. Taste. Sight. The senses are brought alive from its words. War. Friends. Growing up. The cruelty of children. oh and it’s French.


Talking of Chocolat. I didn’t realise there was a second and third sequel to this book!? I’ve read a few reviews for the second book and some say they prefer it to Chocolat. So I think I’m going to give it a read. And talking of sequels, here’s a couple extra on my TO READ list:

 

SEO_.Hollow_CityHOLLOW CITY: Ranson Riggs. The second in a trilogy (think the third is coming late next year). MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN was the first and although a YA fiction, I still enjoyed reading it. You can see the creative process of how this story became, and that is an extra something that keeps me interested, as an interest of mine is the creative process. The book was developed from, features and weaves into the storyline peculiar unusual photos, an interest/hobby of the Author. Well worth a visit. and did I just read that Tim Burton is film-afying the first book? Can’t wait. SEO_A_Million_sunsA MILLION SUNS: Beth Revis. Again, second in a trilogy. The first book: something thats been showing up a lot recently in the blogging world, ACROSS THE UNIVERSE seems to be very pop.u.lar atm. again YA, I did find a little young personally, but I like the sci-fi story. Normal sci-fi/fantasy I find difficult to read so a YA version is perfect for me to get my easy-read teethies into. SEO_the_lollipop_shoes_joanne_harris and lastly: THE LOLLIPOP SHOES, second (again!) in the Chocolat trio. I really am a little unsure of the title for this one personally (assuming though, it does have relevance to the story) and to be honest I was a little unsure of the whole idea of having Chocolat as part of a Triology, I guess I was contented with the end of Chocolat. But, I liked Chocolat so much I just have to give this a go, I’m just not committing to the third yet book yet!


Talk to me if you’ve read/want to read these books! You can also follow me on Goodreads (find the link below in my + section) Still trying to get my paws non-slipping about this site, so shed the light on this for me if you have Goodreads tips and tricks and knowledge to share!

One thought on “Read. Relax. Review. Five Quarters of the Orange.

  1. Pingback: Read. Relax. Review. Three to Re-Read. | ESRScreatives

Leave a Reply

